Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Forum Index Blogs  Forum User Help  Forum Search  Member List 
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Intel Cube Mod, NUC Hackintosh in a Cube Case
iCubeFan
post Jun 26 2013, 05:17 AM
Post #1 | Print This Post 


Cube Regular
**

Group: Members
Posts: 31
Joined: 31-July 11
Specs: PPC 7400 (G4) 450Mhz 1.5 GB PC100 SDRAM SSD KINGSTON 16GB DVD-ROM 5X ATI Rage 128 Pro Mac OS X 10.4.11
Member No.: 9,839
Gender:Male
Where From?:Barcelona
First Name: Fermin



Hi!

In case anyone is interested here is the link to my Intel Cube Mod build log.

It's a zero cut mod, no heat sink removal , no cutting for the IO ports. It's a fanless build that uses the original sensitive power switch.

Hope you like it
Cheers
iCubeFan

This post has been edited by iCubeFan: Jun 26 2013, 09:07 AM


--------------------
Cube 450Mhz Stock Processor,1.5 GB RAM, SSD KINGSTON 16GB, ATI Rage 128 Pro,Airport Express 802.11n as an ethernet bridge,Mac OS X Tiger, Powerlogix clear case.

Intel Cube: 1.8 Ghz Intel® CoreTM i3-3217U , Intel Next Unit of Computing Board D33217CK, 8 GB Crucial RAM, 128 GB mSATA Crucial SSD ,Intel HD Graphics 4000, Mac OS X Mavericks
Stock enclosure with original power switch & Heatsink ( No port alteration needed)

Non-Cube:iMac G4 17" USB 2.0, iPhones: 3G, 4, 5S, Time Capsule 3 TB, Mac Mini 2007 , MacBook Air 2010, 16 GB Wifi New iPad
User is offlineProfile CardPM
+Quote Post Go to the top of the page
youfo
post Jun 26 2013, 11:18 PM
Post #2 | Print This Post 


Cube Guru
****

Group: Members
Posts: 206
Joined: 14-October 05
Member No.: 5,344
Gender:Male
Where From?:US East Coast
First Name: Charlie



QUOTE(iCubeFan @ Jun 26 2013, 05:17 AM) *


Hope you like it

iCubeFan

Really nice work. The ports should be much cleaner than putting a Mini into a Cube chassis.

I'm surprised that you haven't gotten more compliments by now.


--------------------
Sadly, sold my last Cube Feb. 2013
2008 Mac Pro, 2.8 GHz quad core x 2 (8 Cores), 12 GB RAM, 23" Cinema Display, Lion
24" 2007 iMac 2.4 GHz, Lion
15" 2010 Macbook Pro 2.8 GHz, 8 GB RAM, Mountain Lion
2.4 GHz Mac Mini with 8 GB RAM, Snow Leopard
New iPad (3rd gen), 32 GB, wifi only, black
Only one Windows machine left, used for flashing Cube video cards
User is offlineProfile CardPM
+Quote Post Go to the top of the page
Neodym
post Jun 27 2013, 04:22 AM
Post #3 | Print This Post 


Cube Guru
****

Group: Members
Posts: 279
Joined: 29-September 03
Specs: Gigadesigns 1.3GHz 7457, 1.5GB Ram, nVidia 6200, 15" Apple Studio Display
Member No.: 1,718
Gender:Male
Where From?:Ruhrgebiet, Germany
First Name: Ralph



A very interesting project, iCubeFan - thanks for sharing! I especially appreciate the approach to keep the Cube as original as possible. smile.gif

If I could convince myself to gut my Cube, I might be interested in doing something similar. But the collector in me just won't allow it... wink.gif

@youfo: Give it some time. It's just one day since the original post and in 2013 Cubeowner is not that highly frequented anymore. I'm sure some others will also reply in the coming days.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
+Quote Post Go to the top of the page
iCubeFan
post Jun 27 2013, 05:40 AM
Post #4 | Print This Post 


Cube Regular
**

Group: Members
Posts: 31
Joined: 31-July 11
Specs: PPC 7400 (G4) 450Mhz 1.5 GB PC100 SDRAM SSD KINGSTON 16GB DVD-ROM 5X ATI Rage 128 Pro Mac OS X 10.4.11
Member No.: 9,839
Gender:Male
Where From?:Barcelona
First Name: Fermin



QUOTE(Neodym @ Jun 27 2013, 11:22 AM) *

A very interesting project, iCubeFan - thanks for sharing! I especially appreciate the approach to keep the Cube as original as possible. smile.gif

If I could convince myself to gut my Cube, I might be interested in doing something similar. But the collector in me just won't allow it... wink.gif


Hi Neodym,

You don't have to gut your Cube (I would never gut a working Cube!) "fleabay" is plenty of non-working machines for cheap.

I bought a Cube internal chassis (with all the internal components (non working MOBO) ) for 4.20 GBP + 7.50 GBP shipping to BCN!

Cheers

This post has been edited by iCubeFan: Jul 3 2013, 04:45 AM


--------------------
Cube 450Mhz Stock Processor,1.5 GB RAM, SSD KINGSTON 16GB, ATI Rage 128 Pro,Airport Express 802.11n as an ethernet bridge,Mac OS X Tiger, Powerlogix clear case.

Intel Cube: 1.8 Ghz Intel® CoreTM i3-3217U , Intel Next Unit of Computing Board D33217CK, 8 GB Crucial RAM, 128 GB mSATA Crucial SSD ,Intel HD Graphics 4000, Mac OS X Mavericks
Stock enclosure with original power switch & Heatsink ( No port alteration needed)

Non-Cube:iMac G4 17" USB 2.0, iPhones: 3G, 4, 5S, Time Capsule 3 TB, Mac Mini 2007 , MacBook Air 2010, 16 GB Wifi New iPad
User is offlineProfile CardPM
+Quote Post Go to the top of the page
Andropov
post Jul 2 2013, 09:54 AM
Post #5 | Print This Post 


Cube Veteran
***

Group: Members
Posts: 66
Joined: 7-December 11
Specs: PowerPC 7447A Single 1.8Ghz, Nvidia 6200, 1.5GB of RAM, 80GB Hard Drive
Member No.: 9,921
Gender:Male
Where From?:Logroño (Spain)
First Name: Raúl



Wow, it looks great. It's the kind of Cube mod that I like, I tend to suffer when I see someone cutting the bottom of the Cube (or any other part) to fit the ports of a new mobo. And it's a nice touch that you're using the stock heatsink. And it's fanless.

Just one little though, I would have used the original Cube's power brick and power connector to feed the internal Pico PSU.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
+Quote Post Go to the top of the page
iCubeFan
post Jul 3 2013, 05:08 AM
Post #6 | Print This Post 


Cube Regular
**

Group: Members
Posts: 31
Joined: 31-July 11
Specs: PPC 7400 (G4) 450Mhz 1.5 GB PC100 SDRAM SSD KINGSTON 16GB DVD-ROM 5X ATI Rage 128 Pro Mac OS X 10.4.11
Member No.: 9,839
Gender:Male
Where From?:Barcelona
First Name: Fermin



QUOTE(Andropov @ Jul 2 2013, 04:54 PM) *

I tend to suffer when I see someone cutting the bottom of the Cube (or any other part) to fit the ports of a new mobo.


With the 4" X 4" mobo form factor there is no need for that anymore and for the "CPU power hungry ones" Intel will release a Haswell i5 NUC soon


QUOTE(Andropov @ Jul 2 2013, 04:54 PM) *

Just one little though, I would have used the original Cube's power brick and power connector to feed the internal Pico PSU.


eek.gif Could you please explain how can I achieve that? It would be terrific to reuse the original Cube's power brick !

Cheers


--------------------
Cube 450Mhz Stock Processor,1.5 GB RAM, SSD KINGSTON 16GB, ATI Rage 128 Pro,Airport Express 802.11n as an ethernet bridge,Mac OS X Tiger, Powerlogix clear case.

Intel Cube: 1.8 Ghz Intel® CoreTM i3-3217U , Intel Next Unit of Computing Board D33217CK, 8 GB Crucial RAM, 128 GB mSATA Crucial SSD ,Intel HD Graphics 4000, Mac OS X Mavericks
Stock enclosure with original power switch & Heatsink ( No port alteration needed)

Non-Cube:iMac G4 17" USB 2.0, iPhones: 3G, 4, 5S, Time Capsule 3 TB, Mac Mini 2007 , MacBook Air 2010, 16 GB Wifi New iPad
User is offlineProfile CardPM
+Quote Post Go to the top of the page
Andropov
post Jul 3 2013, 08:06 AM
Post #7 | Print This Post 


Cube Veteran
***

Group: Members
Posts: 66
Joined: 7-December 11
Specs: PowerPC 7447A Single 1.8Ghz, Nvidia 6200, 1.5GB of RAM, 80GB Hard Drive
Member No.: 9,921
Gender:Male
Where From?:Logroño (Spain)
First Name: Raúl



The original Cube power brick provides two 28V lines, two 28V return lines and a GND line (the shield around the pins). If your Pico PSU can handle a 28V input, you just need to re-wire it properly. You'll need a new connector too, or you can desolder the motherboard connector of the motherboard if you really know for sure that it's dead.

EDIT: This Pico PSU may be a great choice for your project. It uses the same power connector as the Cube, an accepts 28V input, so, unless it uses a different pinout, it should work (I think, although I might be wrong).

This post has been edited by Andropov: Jul 3 2013, 08:15 AM
User is offlineProfile CardPM
+Quote Post Go to the top of the page
iCubeFan
post Jul 3 2013, 06:33 PM
Post #8 | Print This Post 


Cube Regular
**

Group: Members
Posts: 31
Joined: 31-July 11
Specs: PPC 7400 (G4) 450Mhz 1.5 GB PC100 SDRAM SSD KINGSTON 16GB DVD-ROM 5X ATI Rage 128 Pro Mac OS X 10.4.11
Member No.: 9,839
Gender:Male
Where From?:Barcelona
First Name: Fermin



QUOTE(Andropov @ Jul 3 2013, 03:06 PM) *

If your Pico PSU can handle a 28V input, you just need to re-wire it properly. You'll need a new connector too, or you can desolder the motherboard connector of the motherboard ....


My build uses two PSUs; the on-board one that only accepts 19V and the Pico PSU ( needed to provide 5VSB and 12V lines) that accepts a 12-25V Input.

So a downconverter would also be needed right?

QUOTE(Andropov @ Jul 3 2013, 03:06 PM) *

...if you really know for sure that it's dead


I never troubleshot the logic board as it involved to disassembly my stock Cube.But this looks bad..
Attached Image
QUOTE(Andropov @ Jul 3 2013, 03:06 PM) *


EDIT: This Pico PSU may be a great choice for your project. It uses the same power connector as the Cube, an accepts 28V input, so, unless it uses a different pinout, it should work (I think, although I might be wrong).


It looks great but unfortunately it would collide with the logic board.Maybe for a future build

This post has been edited by iCubeFan: Jul 4 2013, 05:48 AM


--------------------
Cube 450Mhz Stock Processor,1.5 GB RAM, SSD KINGSTON 16GB, ATI Rage 128 Pro,Airport Express 802.11n as an ethernet bridge,Mac OS X Tiger, Powerlogix clear case.

Intel Cube: 1.8 Ghz Intel® CoreTM i3-3217U , Intel Next Unit of Computing Board D33217CK, 8 GB Crucial RAM, 128 GB mSATA Crucial SSD ,Intel HD Graphics 4000, Mac OS X Mavericks
Stock enclosure with original power switch & Heatsink ( No port alteration needed)

Non-Cube:iMac G4 17" USB 2.0, iPhones: 3G, 4, 5S, Time Capsule 3 TB, Mac Mini 2007 , MacBook Air 2010, 16 GB Wifi New iPad
User is offlineProfile CardPM
+Quote Post Go to the top of the page
Andropov
post Jul 3 2013, 07:33 PM
Post #9 | Print This Post 


Cube Veteran
***

Group: Members
Posts: 66
Joined: 7-December 11
Specs: PowerPC 7447A Single 1.8Ghz, Nvidia 6200, 1.5GB of RAM, 80GB Hard Drive
Member No.: 9,921
Gender:Male
Where From?:Logroño (Spain)
First Name: Raúl



Yes, you'll definitely need a downconverter. Actually, you don't just need a downconverter, you need one that can handle 100+ watts. About the female conector you need to use, I know it's a standard connector, but I don't know how it's called.

About the logic board, I'd try to replace the damaged parts (if I had one) and see if it works. There are a limited amount of Cube's logic boards (or parts, for that matter) so getting one back to life would be great. Although, I don't know how that part is called and what it does, hope someone here can tell us.

This post has been edited by Andropov: Jul 3 2013, 07:33 PM
User is offlineProfile CardPM
+Quote Post Go to the top of the page
iCubeFan
post Jul 4 2013, 06:02 AM
Post #10 | Print This Post 


Cube Regular
**

Group: Members
Posts: 31
Joined: 31-July 11
Specs: PPC 7400 (G4) 450Mhz 1.5 GB PC100 SDRAM SSD KINGSTON 16GB DVD-ROM 5X ATI Rage 128 Pro Mac OS X 10.4.11
Member No.: 9,839
Gender:Male
Where From?:Barcelona
First Name: Fermin



QUOTE(Andropov @ Jul 4 2013, 02:33 AM) *


About the female conector you need to use, I know it's a standard connector, but I don't know how it's called.



Connector Type: Din 4p dip Power Jack Quick Lock

QUOTE(Andropov @ Jul 4 2013, 02:33 AM) *

About the logic board, I'd try to replace the damaged parts (if I had one) and see if it works. There are a limited amount of Cube's logic boards (or parts, for that matter) so getting one back to life would be great. Although, I don't know how that part is called and what it does, hope someone here can tell us.


Anyone?


--------------------
Cube 450Mhz Stock Processor,1.5 GB RAM, SSD KINGSTON 16GB, ATI Rage 128 Pro,Airport Express 802.11n as an ethernet bridge,Mac OS X Tiger, Powerlogix clear case.

Intel Cube: 1.8 Ghz Intel® CoreTM i3-3217U , Intel Next Unit of Computing Board D33217CK, 8 GB Crucial RAM, 128 GB mSATA Crucial SSD ,Intel HD Graphics 4000, Mac OS X Mavericks
Stock enclosure with original power switch & Heatsink ( No port alteration needed)

Non-Cube:iMac G4 17" USB 2.0, iPhones: 3G, 4, 5S, Time Capsule 3 TB, Mac Mini 2007 , MacBook Air 2010, 16 GB Wifi New iPad
User is offlineProfile CardPM
+Quote Post Go to the top of the page

Reply to this topicStart new topic

 



Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 19th September 2014 - 03:51 PM