Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Forum Index Blogs  Forum User Help  Forum Search  Member List 
 Forum Rules 
2 Pages V  1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> 10.5.8 new build
CubeIt
post Jun 21 2013, 01:42 PM
Post #1 | Print This Post 


Cube Guru
****

Group: Members
Posts: 4,484
Joined: 19-April 05
Specs: CPU: 550MHz Overclocked; VIDEO: ATI Rage6/Radeon/7200 (fan); HD: WD 160GB/8MB (formatted to 137GB), 7200 rpm; RAM: PC100-222; FAN: 80x15mm Panaflo fan (low speed); VRM: 4th transistor Apple; non-Apple power supply.
Member No.: 4,624
Gender:Male
Where From?:Grand Junction, CO
First Name: Andy



Seems there are two builds of 10.5.8

9L30 and 9L31a

The new Combo update (March 13, 2012) installs the newer build.

This post has been edited by CubeIt: Jun 21 2013, 04:18 PM
User is offlineProfile CardPM
+Quote Post Go to the top of the page
Andropov
post Jun 21 2013, 06:11 PM
Post #2 | Print This Post 


Cube Veteran
***

Group: Members
Posts: 66
Joined: 7-December 11
Specs: PowerPC 7447A Single 1.8Ghz, Nvidia 6200, 1.5GB of RAM, 80GB Hard Drive
Member No.: 9,921
Gender:Male
Where From?:Logroño (Spain)
First Name: Raúl



Is there any known change between builds?
User is offlineProfile CardPM
+Quote Post Go to the top of the page
CubeIt
post Jun 21 2013, 10:53 PM
Post #3 | Print This Post 


Cube Guru
****

Group: Members
Posts: 4,484
Joined: 19-April 05
Specs: CPU: 550MHz Overclocked; VIDEO: ATI Rage6/Radeon/7200 (fan); HD: WD 160GB/8MB (formatted to 137GB), 7200 rpm; RAM: PC100-222; FAN: 80x15mm Panaflo fan (low speed); VRM: 4th transistor Apple; non-Apple power supply.
Member No.: 4,624
Gender:Male
Where From?:Grand Junction, CO
First Name: Andy



Perhaps someone here knows.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
+Quote Post Go to the top of the page
Pablo
post Jun 22 2013, 09:19 AM
Post #4 | Print This Post 


Cube Guru
****

Group: Members
Posts: 934
Joined: 20-December 07
Member No.: 8,525
Gender:Male
Where From?:Spokane, WA
First Name: Paul



QUOTE(CubeIt @ Jun 21 2013, 08:53 PM) *

Perhaps someone here knows.

As a guess, I would say the newest build includes updates to Airport Utility and maybe Front Row. I remember noticing that Flash 10.1.102.64 is in there with Safari, probably all the interim security updates, and maybe some update of Quicktime components and ITunes. I continue to think it is a good idea to download and run the latest Combo Update for your system periodically as a way of cleaning the system, however if you installed every update using Software Update, then your system should be up to date.


--------------------
Pablo

Cube: Newer Technology Maxpower Dual 1.6 gHz 7447A with Pablo heatplate and Pablo VRM bypass wiring harness, 1.5 GB PC 133 Cl 2, ATI Radeon 9000 Pro Mac Edition ADC/DVI, Powerlogix Powercube (clear) with VRM relocation kit, Spirica cube VRM heatsink, 120 GB Crucial M500 SSD with Pablo pSled, LG GS31F SATA Super Multi-Drive with Addonics adapter, Giga Designs base fan, Airport card, Airport Express 802.11n as an ethernet bridge, Harman Kardon USB Soundsticks, Dual Apple 23" M8536 Cinema HD displays with Dr Bott DVIator, Elgato EyeTV 500, Apple iSight with Sightflex mount, Original Belkin powered Firewire Hub, Apple Pro keyboard and mouse, OSX Leopard 10.5.8.

Early 2011 MacBook Pro 15" Core i7 with who knows what's inside and Lion.

Powermac MDD 2003, dual 1.25 cpu, 2 gB PC2700, Apple Superdrive, Radeon 9000.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
+Quote Post Go to the top of the page
CubeIt
post Jun 22 2013, 03:26 PM
Post #5 | Print This Post 


Cube Guru
****

Group: Members
Posts: 4,484
Joined: 19-April 05
Specs: CPU: 550MHz Overclocked; VIDEO: ATI Rage6/Radeon/7200 (fan); HD: WD 160GB/8MB (formatted to 137GB), 7200 rpm; RAM: PC100-222; FAN: 80x15mm Panaflo fan (low speed); VRM: 4th transistor Apple; non-Apple power supply.
Member No.: 4,624
Gender:Male
Where From?:Grand Junction, CO
First Name: Andy



Found a change inside the
IO80211Family.kext

where the
AppleAirPortBrcm4311.kext

is updated from 3.6.5 to 3.6.6, the only other file that is modified is SystemVersion.plist; that's it

This post has been edited by CubeIt: Jun 22 2013, 10:57 PM
User is offlineProfile CardPM
+Quote Post Go to the top of the page
jjgd
post Jun 23 2013, 02:14 AM
Post #6 | Print This Post 


Cube Guru
****

Group: Members
Posts: 396
Joined: 12-November 03
Member No.: 1,934
Gender:Male
Where From?:Paris, France
First Name: JJ



QUOTE(CubeIt @ Jun 21 2013, 01:42 PM) *
The new Combo update (March 13, 2012) installs the newer build.

Could you please provide a link for the 9L31a download ?
The latest OS X 10.5.8 v1.1 combo update I found on Apple.com is dated 31 August 2009.
It installs 9L30.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
+Quote Post Go to the top of the page
CubeIt
post Jun 23 2013, 05:10 AM
Post #7 | Print This Post 


Cube Guru
****

Group: Members
Posts: 4,484
Joined: 19-April 05
Specs: CPU: 550MHz Overclocked; VIDEO: ATI Rage6/Radeon/7200 (fan); HD: WD 160GB/8MB (formatted to 137GB), 7200 rpm; RAM: PC100-222; FAN: 80x15mm Panaflo fan (low speed); VRM: 4th transistor Apple; non-Apple power supply.
Member No.: 4,624
Gender:Male
Where From?:Grand Junction, CO
First Name: Andy



http://support.apple.com/kb/DL866

despite it saying Post Date: Aug 12, 2009; although I think it makes no difference, as I believe there was an Airport update for 9L30

This post has been edited by CubeIt: Jun 23 2013, 05:16 AM
User is offlineProfile CardPM
+Quote Post Go to the top of the page
Pablo
post Jun 23 2013, 11:08 AM
Post #8 | Print This Post 


Cube Guru
****

Group: Members
Posts: 934
Joined: 20-December 07
Member No.: 8,525
Gender:Male
Where From?:Spokane, WA
First Name: Paul



QUOTE(CubeIt @ Jun 23 2013, 03:10 AM) *

http://support.apple.com/kb/DL866

despite it saying Post Date: Aug 12, 2009; although I think it makes no difference, as I believe there was an Airport update for 9L30

Remember how Powermacs with the original airport card were limited to WEP security encryption, and how many people lamented this after 802.11g came out because they wanted to use WPA? WEP was hackable, and that was a problem. When Apple went to 802.11n, there was also a problem in backwards compatibility for computers with the original card. The solution, it seems, was to enable Macs with the original airport card to run WPA. If you have the latest build of OS X 10.5.8 and an original airport card, you can now join an airport network running the WPA1, WPA2 Private encryption setting.
I know this works, because that's what I'm running now.




--------------------
Pablo

Cube: Newer Technology Maxpower Dual 1.6 gHz 7447A with Pablo heatplate and Pablo VRM bypass wiring harness, 1.5 GB PC 133 Cl 2, ATI Radeon 9000 Pro Mac Edition ADC/DVI, Powerlogix Powercube (clear) with VRM relocation kit, Spirica cube VRM heatsink, 120 GB Crucial M500 SSD with Pablo pSled, LG GS31F SATA Super Multi-Drive with Addonics adapter, Giga Designs base fan, Airport card, Airport Express 802.11n as an ethernet bridge, Harman Kardon USB Soundsticks, Dual Apple 23" M8536 Cinema HD displays with Dr Bott DVIator, Elgato EyeTV 500, Apple iSight with Sightflex mount, Original Belkin powered Firewire Hub, Apple Pro keyboard and mouse, OSX Leopard 10.5.8.

Early 2011 MacBook Pro 15" Core i7 with who knows what's inside and Lion.

Powermac MDD 2003, dual 1.25 cpu, 2 gB PC2700, Apple Superdrive, Radeon 9000.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
+Quote Post Go to the top of the page
CubeIt
post Jun 23 2013, 11:31 AM
Post #9 | Print This Post 


Cube Guru
****

Group: Members
Posts: 4,484
Joined: 19-April 05
Specs: CPU: 550MHz Overclocked; VIDEO: ATI Rage6/Radeon/7200 (fan); HD: WD 160GB/8MB (formatted to 137GB), 7200 rpm; RAM: PC100-222; FAN: 80x15mm Panaflo fan (low speed); VRM: 4th transistor Apple; non-Apple power supply.
Member No.: 4,624
Gender:Male
Where From?:Grand Junction, CO
First Name: Andy



I wonder if this driver can be moved to 10.4... anyone tried?
User is offlineProfile CardPM
+Quote Post Go to the top of the page
Pablo
post Jun 23 2013, 11:08 PM
Post #10 | Print This Post 


Cube Guru
****

Group: Members
Posts: 934
Joined: 20-December 07
Member No.: 8,525
Gender:Male
Where From?:Spokane, WA
First Name: Paul



QUOTE(CubeIt @ Jun 23 2013, 09:31 AM) *

I wonder if this driver can be moved to 10.4... anyone tried?

I don't know. Airport Utility 5.6.1 for Leopard is required to program the 802.11n devices, and you may need that.


--------------------
Pablo

Cube: Newer Technology Maxpower Dual 1.6 gHz 7447A with Pablo heatplate and Pablo VRM bypass wiring harness, 1.5 GB PC 133 Cl 2, ATI Radeon 9000 Pro Mac Edition ADC/DVI, Powerlogix Powercube (clear) with VRM relocation kit, Spirica cube VRM heatsink, 120 GB Crucial M500 SSD with Pablo pSled, LG GS31F SATA Super Multi-Drive with Addonics adapter, Giga Designs base fan, Airport card, Airport Express 802.11n as an ethernet bridge, Harman Kardon USB Soundsticks, Dual Apple 23" M8536 Cinema HD displays with Dr Bott DVIator, Elgato EyeTV 500, Apple iSight with Sightflex mount, Original Belkin powered Firewire Hub, Apple Pro keyboard and mouse, OSX Leopard 10.5.8.

Early 2011 MacBook Pro 15" Core i7 with who knows what's inside and Lion.

Powermac MDD 2003, dual 1.25 cpu, 2 gB PC2700, Apple Superdrive, Radeon 9000.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
+Quote Post Go to the top of the page
AtmChm
post Jun 24 2013, 07:12 PM
Post #11 | Print This Post 


Cube Guru
****

Group: Members
Posts: 193
Joined: 9-March 11
Member No.: 9,740
Gender:Male
Where From?:La Crosse, WI
First Name: Keith



QUOTE(Pablo @ Jun 23 2013, 11:08 AM) *

Remember how Powermacs with the original airport card were limited to WEP security encryption, and how many people lamented this after 802.11g came out because they wanted to use WPA? WEP was hackable, and that was a problem. When Apple went to 802.11n, there was also a problem in backwards compatibility for computers with the original card. The solution, it seems, was to enable Macs with the original airport card to run WPA. If you have the latest build of OS X 10.5.8 and an original airport card, you can now join an airport network running the WPA1, WPA2 Private encryption setting.
I know this works, because that's what I'm running now.

I pulled out Cube #2, which has a 10.5.8 drive in it with the latest update applied. I'm running a home network with Apple Airport Express base station. It's running WPA2 security. I have tried connecting the Cube #2 using the airport card, but when I select the network, enter the password, and choose WPA personal security, it can't connect or says the password is wrong. I've tried this numerous times, but no luck. I am able to connect with my PowerBook G4 running 10.4.11 using its airport card. Strange. Any ideas?


--------------------
Cube specs: Powerlogix 7447a dual 1.5 GHz, 1.5 GB RAM, ATI Rage 128Pro, 22" ACD, 120 GB OWC Legacy Pro SSD with StarTech 2.5/3.5 IDE adapter, MCE Superdrive, Apple G4 Cube speakers, Noctua NF-R8 case fan with low noise adapter, OS X 10.4.11
User is offlineProfile CardPM
+Quote Post Go to the top of the page
Pablo
post Jun 25 2013, 10:46 AM
Post #12 | Print This Post 


Cube Guru
****

Group: Members
Posts: 934
Joined: 20-December 07
Member No.: 8,525
Gender:Male
Where From?:Spokane, WA
First Name: Paul



QUOTE(AtmChm @ Jun 24 2013, 05:12 PM) *

I pulled out Cube #2, which has a 10.5.8 drive in it with the latest update applied. I'm running a home network with Apple Airport Express base station. It's running WPA2 security. I have tried connecting the Cube #2 using the airport card, but when I select the network, enter the password, and choose WPA personal security, it can't connect or says the password is wrong. I've tried this numerous times, but no luck. I am able to connect with my PowerBook G4 running 10.4.11 using its airport card. Strange. Any ideas?

If your base station is not the original airport express, but a 1st or 2nd generation 802.11n, and your Cube 2 has the latest Airport software update and the above build of Leopard, then you may need to change your password. The Cube was built when a network password had to be 13 hexadecimal digits. The Powerbook came later, when the password could be longer or shorter. Open airport utility and see if the Cube can locate your base station with its airport card. If not, reset the base station, pressing a pin in the reset hole until the light flashes rapidly. Then the Cube should be able to see the base station with its factory default setting, and you should be able to use manual configuration to change your password so the Cube can connect to your network. Also select the WPA1, WPA2 setting. And now we know this also works with 10.4.11. Thanks. smile.gif

This post has been edited by Pablo: Jun 25 2013, 11:03 AM


--------------------
Pablo

Cube: Newer Technology Maxpower Dual 1.6 gHz 7447A with Pablo heatplate and Pablo VRM bypass wiring harness, 1.5 GB PC 133 Cl 2, ATI Radeon 9000 Pro Mac Edition ADC/DVI, Powerlogix Powercube (clear) with VRM relocation kit, Spirica cube VRM heatsink, 120 GB Crucial M500 SSD with Pablo pSled, LG GS31F SATA Super Multi-Drive with Addonics adapter, Giga Designs base fan, Airport card, Airport Express 802.11n as an ethernet bridge, Harman Kardon USB Soundsticks, Dual Apple 23" M8536 Cinema HD displays with Dr Bott DVIator, Elgato EyeTV 500, Apple iSight with Sightflex mount, Original Belkin powered Firewire Hub, Apple Pro keyboard and mouse, OSX Leopard 10.5.8.

Early 2011 MacBook Pro 15" Core i7 with who knows what's inside and Lion.

Powermac MDD 2003, dual 1.25 cpu, 2 gB PC2700, Apple Superdrive, Radeon 9000.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
+Quote Post Go to the top of the page
CubeIt
post Jun 29 2013, 12:30 PM
Post #13 | Print This Post 


Cube Guru
****

Group: Members
Posts: 4,484
Joined: 19-April 05
Specs: CPU: 550MHz Overclocked; VIDEO: ATI Rage6/Radeon/7200 (fan); HD: WD 160GB/8MB (formatted to 137GB), 7200 rpm; RAM: PC100-222; FAN: 80x15mm Panaflo fan (low speed); VRM: 4th transistor Apple; non-Apple power supply.
Member No.: 4,624
Gender:Male
Where From?:Grand Junction, CO
First Name: Andy



QUOTE(AtmChm @ Jun 24 2013, 06:12 PM) *

I pulled out Cube #2, which has a 10.5.8 drive in it with the latest update applied. I'm running a home network with Apple Airport Express base station. It's running WPA2 security. I have tried connecting the Cube #2 using the airport card, but when I select the network, enter the password, and choose WPA personal security, it can't connect or says the password is wrong. I've tried this numerous times, but no luck. I am able to connect with my PowerBook G4 running 10.4.11 using its airport card. Strange. Any ideas?


I seem to recall that the Orinoco card this is based on had silver and gold versions, so you might want to try swapping the cards between the two Cubes and seeing what happens.

This post has been edited by CubeIt: Jun 29 2013, 12:32 PM
User is offlineProfile CardPM
+Quote Post Go to the top of the page
AtmChm
post Jun 29 2013, 06:13 PM
Post #14 | Print This Post 


Cube Guru
****

Group: Members
Posts: 193
Joined: 9-March 11
Member No.: 9,740
Gender:Male
Where From?:La Crosse, WI
First Name: Keith



QUOTE(CubeIt @ Jun 29 2013, 12:30 PM) *

I seem to recall that the Orinoco card this is based on had silver and gold versions, so you might want to try swapping the cards between the two Cubes and seeing what happens.

Pablo's suggestion made sense, I just didn't have the desire to change the password just for Cub2 #2, which I'm not using anyway, just wanted to make sure I had the latest version of Leopard that you posted and downloaded webkit. Thanks for those posts. I've got Cube #1 running Tiger, but that is connected to our home network with an Airport Express base station through the ethernet connector, so I'm not using Airport on that Cube, though when I tried connecting with that one it did not work. Interesting that my 17" 1.5 GHz powerbook connects running Tiger. As Pablo mentioned, this does not seem to be an OS issue, but rather a hardware issue.


--------------------
Cube specs: Powerlogix 7447a dual 1.5 GHz, 1.5 GB RAM, ATI Rage 128Pro, 22" ACD, 120 GB OWC Legacy Pro SSD with StarTech 2.5/3.5 IDE adapter, MCE Superdrive, Apple G4 Cube speakers, Noctua NF-R8 case fan with low noise adapter, OS X 10.4.11
User is offlineProfile CardPM
+Quote Post Go to the top of the page
CubeIt
post Jun 29 2013, 06:24 PM
Post #15 | Print This Post 


Cube Guru
****

Group: Members
Posts: 4,484
Joined: 19-April 05
Specs: CPU: 550MHz Overclocked; VIDEO: ATI Rage6/Radeon/7200 (fan); HD: WD 160GB/8MB (formatted to 137GB), 7200 rpm; RAM: PC100-222; FAN: 80x15mm Panaflo fan (low speed); VRM: 4th transistor Apple; non-Apple power supply.
Member No.: 4,624
Gender:Male
Where From?:Grand Junction, CO
First Name: Andy



The airport extreme card has no problem with WPA
User is offlineProfile CardPM
+Quote Post Go to the top of the page

2 Pages V  1 2 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic

 



Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 26th October 2014 - 12:22 AM