Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Forum Index Blogs  Forum User Help  Forum Search  Member List 
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Dual 533MHz from Digital Audio PowerMac
cj247
post Mar 3 2013, 10:25 PM


Cube User
*

Group: Members
Posts: 15
Joined: 20-December 05
Specs: 1.5 GHz PL, 1.5GB RAM, GeForce 6200, Giga-VRM, 120GB/8MB cache Baracuda IV, 15" LCD Studio Display
Member No.: 5,560
Gender:Male
Where From?:Detroit
First Name: C.J.



Has anyone attempted to install a Dual 533MHz from a Digital Audio (DA) PowerMac into the Cube?

I have seen references to singles being put in the Cube, but not the dual. I've seen examples of the Duals from the Sawtooth put into the Cube. From what I understand the DA version uses the die shrunk version of the 7400 and is more energy efficient and causes less heat. Would be great for the Cube.

Is this worth a try or has someone already tried and found the "fatal flaw" in my thinking.

User is offlineProfile CardPM
+Quote Post Go to the top of the page
CubeIt
post Mar 3 2013, 10:30 PM


Cube Guru
****

Group: Members
Posts: 4,484
Joined: 19-April 05
Specs: CPU: 550MHz Overclocked; VIDEO: ATI Rage6/Radeon/7200 (fan); HD: WD 160GB/8MB (formatted to 137GB), 7200 rpm; RAM: PC100-222; FAN: 80x15mm Panaflo fan (low speed); VRM: 4th transistor Apple; non-Apple power supply.
Member No.: 4,624
Gender:Male
Where From?:Grand Junction, CO
First Name: Andy



My guess: one problem is that the 533 MHz CPU runs at x4 the Digital Audio 133 MHz front side bus, and so would run at 400 MHz in a Cube unless reconfigured for x5.5 (some resistors need moving around).

This post has been edited by CubeIt: Mar 3 2013, 10:37 PM
User is offlineProfile CardPM
+Quote Post Go to the top of the page
HAP
post Mar 4 2013, 05:07 PM


Cube Guru
****

Group: Members
Posts: 79
Joined: 1-August 11
Member No.: 9,840
Gender:please select
Where From?:SF Bay Area
First Name: Hap



QUOTE(CubeIt @ Mar 3 2013, 06:30 PM) *

My guess: one problem is that the 533 MHz CPU runs at x4 the Digital Audio 133 MHz front side bus, and so would run at 400 MHz in a Cube unless reconfigured for x5.5 (some resistors need moving around).



I've installed MANY dual 500Mhz and 450Mhz systems but never this setup. Besides the power consumption being less, is there any reason why a dual 500 won't get it done? It's ~7% increase and a tried method. Your still going to need to machine the heat sink to make way for the larger coil on the dual 500.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
+Quote Post Go to the top of the page
cj247
post Mar 4 2013, 09:55 PM


Cube User
*

Group: Members
Posts: 15
Joined: 20-December 05
Specs: 1.5 GHz PL, 1.5GB RAM, GeForce 6200, Giga-VRM, 120GB/8MB cache Baracuda IV, 15" LCD Studio Display
Member No.: 5,560
Gender:Male
Where From?:Detroit
First Name: C.J.



Hi,
Thanks for the replies. The motivation for the 7410 instead of the 7400 is to reduce power consumption as much as possible since I'll be running a GeForce 6200 in this setup and I want to minimize stress on the aging VRM.

I looked at the xler8yourmac web site and they showed making the DA a 500MHz is as simple by knocking off a resistor.

However, looking at the pics of the two modules, it appears the Digital Audio Dual is a mirror image of the Sawtooth Dual. Thus, the extended area of the dual and the coil is on the opposite side.

Dual 500MHz Sawtooth
Attached Image

Dual 533MHz Digital Audio
Attached Image

Will have to see if there may be interference issues...
User is offlineProfile CardPM
+Quote Post Go to the top of the page
Pablo
post Mar 5 2013, 12:34 AM


Cube Guru
****

Group: Members
Posts: 934
Joined: 20-December 07
Member No.: 8,525
Gender:Male
Where From?:Spokane, WA
First Name: Paul



QUOTE(cj247 @ Mar 4 2013, 05:55 PM) *

However, looking at the pics of the two modules, it appears the Digital Audio Dual is a mirror image of the Sawtooth Dual. Thus, the extended area of the dual and the coil is on the opposite side.

Not so. The top picture is correct. The bottom picture is flipped, as in a negative image. The cards are the same.

This post has been edited by Pablo: Mar 6 2013, 12:24 AM


--------------------
Pablo

Cube: Newer Technology Maxpower Dual 1.6 gHz 7447A with Pablo heatplate and Pablo VRM bypass wiring harness, 1.5 GB PC 133 Cl 2, ATI Radeon 9000 Pro Mac Edition ADC/DVI, Powerlogix Powercube (clear) with VRM relocation kit, Spirica cube VRM heatsink, 120 GB Crucial M500 SSD with Pablo pSled, LG GS31F SATA Super Multi-Drive with Addonics adapter, Giga Designs base fan, Airport card, Airport Express 802.11n as an ethernet bridge, Harman Kardon USB Soundsticks, Dual Apple 23" M8536 Cinema HD displays with Dr Bott DVIator, Elgato EyeTV 500, Apple iSight with Sightflex mount, Original Belkin powered Firewire Hub, Apple Pro keyboard and mouse, OSX Leopard 10.5.8.

Early 2011 MacBook Pro 15" Core i7 with who knows what's inside and Lion.

Powermac MDD 2003, dual 1.25 cpu, 2 gB PC2700, Apple Superdrive, Radeon 9000.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
+Quote Post Go to the top of the page
cj247
post Mar 13 2013, 10:45 PM


Cube User
*

Group: Members
Posts: 15
Joined: 20-December 05
Specs: 1.5 GHz PL, 1.5GB RAM, GeForce 6200, Giga-VRM, 120GB/8MB cache Baracuda IV, 15" LCD Studio Display
Member No.: 5,560
Gender:Male
Where From?:Detroit
First Name: C.J.



QUOTE(Pablo @ Mar 5 2013, 12:34 AM) *

Not so. The top picture is correct. The bottom picture is flipped, as in a negative image. The cards are the same.


Pablo,
Is so.

I now have 45 reasons (as in $45) to demonstrate why the cards are NOT the same.

On the left you will find the dual 500MHz processor. On the right is the 533MHz dual (notice the smaller, more efficient die of the CPU). They are clearly not the same cards.

The dual 533MHz module in the Cube interferes with the ATA connector and airport ribbon connector and will not work. The dual 500MHz fits in open space next to the ethernet card side and, as many people have demonstrated before, works fine.

I hope someone else can save the time and effort and learn from my mistakes.

This post has been edited by cj247: Mar 13 2013, 10:51 PM


Attached thumbnail(s)
Attached Image
User is offlineProfile CardPM
+Quote Post Go to the top of the page
Pablo
post Mar 14 2013, 02:38 AM


Cube Guru
****

Group: Members
Posts: 934
Joined: 20-December 07
Member No.: 8,525
Gender:Male
Where From?:Spokane, WA
First Name: Paul



QUOTE(cj247 @ Mar 13 2013, 07:45 PM) *

Pablo,
Is so.
I now have 45 reasons (as in $45) to demonstrate why the cards are NOT the same.

Well, clearly I made a mistake, and I feel sorry about it. I can see from the 733mHz single cpus of the Digital Audio that the voltage regulators are on the right side of the cards versus the left. I found it hard to believe that the 533mHz duals were on a PCB board that was a mirror image of the 450 and 500mHz duals of the previous generation, but then they were a custom ordered option. Would you feel better if I offered to buy the card for your cost to make it up to you? Sometimes the way I learn things isn't free, and I should be grateful when others reveal where I have gotten things wrong.



--------------------
Pablo

Cube: Newer Technology Maxpower Dual 1.6 gHz 7447A with Pablo heatplate and Pablo VRM bypass wiring harness, 1.5 GB PC 133 Cl 2, ATI Radeon 9000 Pro Mac Edition ADC/DVI, Powerlogix Powercube (clear) with VRM relocation kit, Spirica cube VRM heatsink, 120 GB Crucial M500 SSD with Pablo pSled, LG GS31F SATA Super Multi-Drive with Addonics adapter, Giga Designs base fan, Airport card, Airport Express 802.11n as an ethernet bridge, Harman Kardon USB Soundsticks, Dual Apple 23" M8536 Cinema HD displays with Dr Bott DVIator, Elgato EyeTV 500, Apple iSight with Sightflex mount, Original Belkin powered Firewire Hub, Apple Pro keyboard and mouse, OSX Leopard 10.5.8.

Early 2011 MacBook Pro 15" Core i7 with who knows what's inside and Lion.

Powermac MDD 2003, dual 1.25 cpu, 2 gB PC2700, Apple Superdrive, Radeon 9000.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
+Quote Post Go to the top of the page
cj247
post Mar 14 2013, 06:22 AM


Cube User
*

Group: Members
Posts: 15
Joined: 20-December 05
Specs: 1.5 GHz PL, 1.5GB RAM, GeForce 6200, Giga-VRM, 120GB/8MB cache Baracuda IV, 15" LCD Studio Display
Member No.: 5,560
Gender:Male
Where From?:Detroit
First Name: C.J.



Paul,
Please don't feel sorry for the mistake. I clearly didn't do my homework (time vs money and all that) and I missed the differences as well.

I appreciate your offer, but I feel fine with it as is. I am sorry if my post made you feel sorry because that was not my intention (it was meant to be in a joking tone). You have provided me and others with great information in the past by sharing your findings and you have saved me time and energy on many other areas. I just wanted to share something I just learned as well so that it may help someone else in the future.

I thank you for sharing your thoughts on these posts.

This post has been edited by cj247: Mar 14 2013, 06:26 AM
User is offlineProfile CardPM
+Quote Post Go to the top of the page

Reply to this topicStart new topic

 



Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd October 2014 - 12:45 AM